Corydoras Catfish for $1

9 Mar

Last week I looked at PetSmart’s fish prices online and they had a special on Albino Corydoras.  ONE dollar each! I figured they wouldn’t have any by the time I got there but the next morning I went and there they were.

I bought 3 of them, and then noticed in another tank, Peppered Corydoras $1 . Are you kidding me?

When I worked in a Tropical Fish Store in the 1970’s  Corydoras cost $1.50  so the current price of 4 or 5 dollars is not out of line.

Well, what could I do? I had to buy them, right?

I walked out with 3 Albinos and 5 Peppered Corydoras.  8 bucks.

Here are my Peppered Corys stirring up some shrimp pellets.

2 Responses to “Corydoras Catfish for $1”

  1. becomingcliche March 9, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Oh, my goodness! I’m sorry I missed THAT sale!

    I took care of a cory breeder’s stock while he was out of town for a week, and afterwards, I tried my hand at breeding them. We managed to get several spawnings. It was really cool.

  2. fishtanx2011 March 9, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    I bought some little tiny baby Peppered Corys from a breeder last year. I think I paid $1.50 each, and they were soooo small. Guess what, they weren’t Peppered Cories, they turned out to be Green Cories.
    When these new peppered Cories get a bit older i have to get serious about spawning them.

Leave a comment