How did this happen?

9 Mar

SIXTEEN pounds of fluffy love. With front claws to back it up.

…so the next time we go to PetSmart I do my usual tour of the fish tanks and my wife goes and looks at the cats.

I wander over and join her. We look at this HUGE fluffy cat and she turns,  stares at me and says, “I want that cat.” Just like that.

Now, when you see a cat or dog at a Petshop or Shelter it’s common to Ooooh and Aaaaah and say ” Oh, I want that little kitty!” or “Isn’t he a cute little puppy, he looks so sad….” and on and on.

But this was different. No emotion, no attempt to convince me that we should get this cat. Just, “I want that cat.” I knew I was in for a long afternoon.

I tried, I really did.  We have cats, our kids have cats, I don’t want the kids’ cats coming back to live with us, someone will adopt this cat…all of these great arguments.

To get the cat we had to leave PetSmart, go to the Animal Shelter and fill out an application. They only take cash so we had to make a run to an ATM, then back to the shelter, then to PetSmart, and now we have this GIGANTIC 9-year-old cat, who really is beautiful and calm and quiet and gets along with everyone in the house.

It turns out his elderly owner had passed away and he has been up for adoption since January. The shelter wouldn’t have been able to keep him too much longer.

7 Responses to “How did this happen?”

  1. itjustencouragesme March 9, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Awesome. I know I can look forward to that happening to me more that once in the coming years. Nice job going with it.

  2. fishtanx2011 March 9, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Thank you… I mean, I did have a choice…didn’t I?

  3. khrysskroez March 10, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    this cat is really huge and fluffy..and so cute….and I can’t stop looking at the picture!

    • fishtanx2011 March 10, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

      He is HUGE and we are still trying to find the right name. Big Kat, Big Boi, Max, Dreyfuss. I tell my wife, “How about Gigantor?”

      • khrysskroez March 10, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

        He is sooo cute and it’s really difficult to find a name..I would love to hug and call him Emperor Fluffy!:)

      • fishtanx2011 March 10, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

        That’s funny, my wife mentioned this morning that she once had a cat named Fluffy, which means she is thinking of it as a name now. Emperor Fluffy, I will see what see thinks!

      • khrysskroez March 10, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

        Sure…If you have time please post a lot of his pictures…Really adorable…

Leave a Reply

