Jehmco air pump is fantastic

30 Jan

Other websites, including Youtube, will do a thorough job of teaching you how to install a central air system for multiple aquariums. I’ll keep this brief.

I bought my Jehmco air pump several years ago. I finally bought the PVC pipe and clamps, and I built the thing in 4 or 5 hours. Why did I wait so long? I ask myself the same question.

Place the pump above the water level of your aquariums.

I used one-inch PVC. It’s cheap and it’s easy to thread the air valves into it.

For anyone wondering, I can confirm for you, no PVC glue is needed. Just press the pieces together, it won’t leak air.

Important note: After cutting the PVC (I used a miter saw) brush away or vacuum the little plastic bits. You don’t want that in the airline where it will plug the valves. I would make a cut, then vacuum it right away.

The main idea is to have a “closed-loop system”. That simply means that you “T” the PVC line and run a “loop” around your fish room. By a loop, I don’t mean a circle. That way, you have equal pressure wherever you tap into it. Am I making any sense? Probably not. I’m just here to encourage you. A closed-loop system using a Jehmco pump is the greatest thing ever.

The cost? Not cheap, true. But worth it. My total was around $300. (pump, pvc, clamps, valves, extra air tubing)

The noise? None. I mean it. The pump makes no sound when the system is connected. You will hear lots of bubbling water. Your tanks will be cleaner. Your fish will be happier.

Lastly, in most cases you will have excess air. Most people buy a silencer that threads into a PVC fitting. I just happened to have a cheap water valve and a water filter that threaded onto that water valve. It was an experiment but it worked beautifully. I didn’t need to buy a silencer and I adjust the excess air with the water valve.

I have no affiliation with Jehmco. I’ve never corresponded with them. I bought one of their pumps. It’s a product that lives up to your expectations, a minor miracle these days.

Leave a comment