A really worthwhile interesting post about fish care, I promise!

3 Mar

Well, if I said this post was about How To Bag Your Fish you wouldn’t look at it, would you?
I promise I have something useful for you to see.

Two things can happen when transporting fish in plastic bags. They may get pinned into the corners of the bag and die of suffocation.  Or spiny fish, like Corydoras Catfish, can actually puncture the bag.

Here’s how to avoid those problems:

Let's say you need to move you prized Freshwater Cowfish to a new home.

They cost over a hundred dollars apiece so you want them to be safe while they are in the little plastic bag.

After you twist the top of the bag, bend it over like this.

That makes it easy to put on the rubber band and even easier to take it off.

But Oh My, the Cowfish can still get Smooshed (get it, SMOOOshed) into the corners of the bag.

Some people think double-bagging is just slipping another bag up and over the first bag. WRONG!!!!

Instead, take the second bag and slip it over the top of the first bag.

See the little Cowfish all safe and sound.

The interior of the bag is all rounded off. No corners to get trapped in and spiky fish like Corydoras Catfish can't puncture the bags either.

Here's a Saltwater Cowfish.

The Freshwater Cowfish seen here are native to my Grandaughter’s toy box.

4 Responses to “A really worthwhile interesting post about fish care, I promise!”

  1. becomingcliche March 4, 2012 at 6:38 am #

    HAHAHAHA! Love the cowfish! Hope it made the trip okay!

    When I worked in a fish shop, I turned the bags upside down. I had countless customers who turned it right-side up until I explained.

  2. fishtanx2011 March 4, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    I think that it is sign of a knowledgeable fish-store employee if they double-bag like this. When I was fish-store employee, if a customer asked me to do it i thought they were know-it-all snobs!! Isn’t that terrible! I was just a kid.

  3. aquariumstarter March 15, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    Hi thanks that was really useful and your blog is great!

Leave a Reply

