The Temple Plant

24 Nov

Here’s another good plant for a tank with moderate light. The Temple plant. There are various species of this plant but it looks like I have  Hygrophila corymbosa.

I bought a bunch a few months ago and it has already stretched to the top of a 55-gallon tank so I broke off the tallest pieces and re-planted them. Those small pieces rooted into the gravel in a matter of days.

The plant has a light, bright, green color. My Silver Angelfish have laid a few batches of eggs on the leaves, too.

5 Responses to “The Temple Plant”

  1. becomingcliche November 25, 2012 at 5:53 am #

    I’m a big fan of java fern. It roots easily and reproduces quickly even with benign neglect.

    • fishtanx2011 November 25, 2012 at 10:24 am #

      I tried some 2 years ago and they never grew!! One lasted for ages but was very tiny and eventually disappeared. I should try them again. Wonder why they didn’t do well, everything else I had at the time was growing fine.

      • becomingcliche November 25, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

        We have to thin it out every six months or so. It takes over! Java moss is the same way.

  2. YourHobby January 12, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    Great blog for people to get idea’s to help them in their new hobby…..

Leave a comment