A good report about Hatchetfish

24 Nov

I got my very first Hatchetfish just a few months ago. I bought only two of them. I was afraid that they wouldn’t eat, or would get sick, or get picked on, or some disaster, but they have been great!
These are the Silver Hatchetfish species, Gasteropelecus sternicla, and I did worry  for a few weeks. They were tentative about eating. Now, they zoom right over to the food and get their share.

Hatchets look like they can fly,  so it’s important to keep a tight lid on the tank.  I use glass tops on most of my tanks. The glass tops keep water evaporation to a minimum but also make a tight fit to keep fish from jumping out. Another fish that gets found all dried-up on the carpet is the Swordtail.

I cut the plastic strip on the glass top to fit snug around this filter.

It should be tighter around this heater.

Leave a Reply

