Turtle eggs June 13, 2014

14 Jun

I was watering the plants around the pond and I almost didn’t spot the momma turtle under some flowers. She doesn’t leave the pond except for one reason, to lay eggs.

CAM03094I made a nice sandy beach for her last year but she was 15 feet away from that. All my hard work…

CAM03095She left no trace of a nest, except that I had SEEN her digging. She fills it back in and packs it down and it’s virtually invisible. Here I have removed the eggs, feeling like Roy Chapman Andrews in the Gobi Desert, and left a  spoon in there to show you how deep she goes, through hard ground and full of plant roots. Amazing.

CAM03096Here they are, seven eggs!

I added a layer of mixed vermiculite and coir (coconut husk fiber) over the eggs, then put the container into ANOTHER container which has a bed of sand in it, then put that on a shelf with a heating pad underneath. All the sand is so the heat radiates into the container evenly, no hotspots.

I’ll get a picture of the egg incubator thing and post it soon, and I’ll keep it moist and mostly covered. You check back in a few months, okay? We’ll find out if I am the foster parent of septuplets.

 

 

11 Responses to “Turtle eggs June 13, 2014”

  1. becomingcliche June 15, 2014 at 10:13 am #

    Good luck! Now, what are you going to do with all those turtles?!

    • fishtanx2011 June 15, 2014 at 11:19 am #

      That’s what my wife said. Or yelled.

      • becomingcliche June 16, 2014 at 6:20 am #

        I would do exactly the same thing you’re doing, though. Just for the record. What are the laws there? Can you swap turtles at the fish club meetings? Are there herp clubs there? Federal law says that no turtles with a carapace measuring less than four inches can be sold, but that DOES NOT mean you can’t rehome them/trade them if you want to. That’s how many dealers sidestep the law. As long as you aren’t accepting money for the turtles themselves, it’s legal, especially if the trade is for educational purposes.

  2. pillbugs333 July 29, 2014 at 9:24 am #

    Wow! What are you going to do with all the babys? Wont you run out of turtle space at some point? I love your blog and I spent 3 hours reading all of it last night. (Untill 1:13…) also how many gallons is your big pond? Sorry for all the questions…but not super sorry because I have more! How are the water lilies your friend gave you? Are you planning on any plants in the turtle pond? I think water lilies might work. (Or get demolished) do you plan on leaving your goldfish outdoors in the winter? I noticed that you bring him inside in the winter. But my goldies are fine outside! (Except for the fancy golds but they are out in the summer) I was just wondering if there is a reason…but don’t put him outdoors on my word without testing with another fish I will fell so bad if he for some reason died in the winter…sheesh sorry for the book I wrote…I just looked at how big it was. (Ps we use the same plant shelf I saw in one of your pics) love your blog! Also how often do you post so I know when to when to start checking back…now i am just rambling…I hope this makes sense… love your aquariums!!

    • fishtanx2011 July 29, 2014 at 10:21 am #

      Thank you so much. I’ll get back to your specific questions shortly. I’m intending to post more soon. Always intending…not enough doing but your post has inspired me!

      • keeleycook July 29, 2014 at 3:26 pm #

        Haha thanks 😀 i am so excited!

      • fishtanx2011 January 2, 2015 at 7:53 pm #

        Finally I am getting back to the blog. A big part of my absence was simply that I had gotten a new Samsung Galaxy phone and a newer computer and those two things did not see eye to eye. I finally got serious about resolving the problem, instead of smashing both devices, and I intend to keep the blog going. Did you get the Musk Turtles? I really think you have the right idea and I would love to know how it worked out.

      • keeleycook July 29, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

        Also because of your blog we put in a pond and we will get eastern musk turtles for it! (Chosen because they don’t get past 5 inches)

    • fishtanx2011 January 2, 2015 at 8:02 pm #

      Thank you for the kind words. I had some cell phone/computer incompatibility issues that I was ignoring. Therefore, I couldn’t easily add photos to the blog. I finally got serious and resolved the issue. I hope to write regularly again. The turtle eggs of 2014 did not hatch. My pond is somewhere around 600 gallons.The water lilies seem to be getting weaker over time. Maybe I need to plant them in some real fertile muck, which is how I find them in the wild. I planned on bringing the Goldfish in for the Winter but they seemingly vanished just a week or two before it got very cold. Did they go to the bottom? Did they die of disease? Were they eaten by… by what I don’t know? Somehow I think something bad happened as i haven’t seen any sign of the Goldfish and the pond is not clear. In fact, it’s now frozen. Again, thank you for your comments and I apologize for the belated reply.

  3. keeleycook September 3, 2014 at 7:36 pm #

    Did they hatch?

    • fishtanx2011 January 2, 2015 at 7:46 pm #

      Thank you for asking. The quick answer is no, and I just wrote a blog post about it. We’ll try again in 2015!

Leave a Reply

