Lawnmower Blenny report…and more.

1 Mar

I’ve had the Lawnmower Blenny in my saltwater tank for about 3 weeks now. He’s doing well. He’s fun to watch, he perches high on the rocks and coral like a bird surveying his domain. He’s a great little fish, but…well, the truth is, he is not making a dent in the algae.

CAM02710

He picks at it, but I never see him really grab a chunk and just EAT it. It’s pick, pick pick, but the algae in my tank appears the same. Buy one, but don’t expect miracles.

CAM02683

CAM02711

Last week, in a shocking turn of events, my two Ocellaris Clownfish began attacking my Green-Spotted Puffer. The Clowns were relentless. They have always dominated the Puffer but suddenly they were really trying to kill him. I haven’t noticed any spawning behavior from the Clowns that would make them so vicious. After 3 days of this I had to remove the Puffer. He’s in a smaller tank for now, and I am adding some freshwater to his tank every day to make it brackish. (salty but not saltwater)

CAM02747-1

Since the Puffer is no longer in the salt tank I realized that I can add snails for algae control. We have a Petco nearby and I bought 3 Turbo Snails at $3 each. I took 5 hours to transition them to my tank conditions and they are doing well.

CAM02716They are not traveling much but they don’t have to. The bottom is literally a bed of food for them.

CAM02755

Now the sad part of the story. I also bought a little Blue Damselfish. When I first set up this aquarium, over 6 years ago, the first fish I bought was a little Blue Damsel. He got along great with these two Clownfish and the Royal Gramma, who are, as I always say, over 6 years old.

CAM02717

That original Damsel lived over two years and I believe he died of old age. He didn’t die suddenly, he deteriorated over a period of many weeks. I mention all of this because I was so hopeful that another Blue Damsel could live in this tank. The splash of Electric Blue would make this tank PERFECT.

CAM02731-1

At first, the Damsel stood up to the Clowns. But on Day Two the Damsel was in hiding. I fed a big dose of baby brine shrimp into the tank to make sure he could eat without coming out. I expected him to hide a few days and learn how to cope but on Day Three I found him dead. Quick as that. I have to ponder whether I will try it again. Did the Clowns actually kill the Damsel? Or was the shock of going from the wild to the store to my tank too much? I just can’t stand knowing all that fish went through only to die in the middle of Iowa in a 42 gallon fish tank. This just haunts me.

4 Responses to “Lawnmower Blenny report…and more.”

  1. DCM March 1, 2014 at 11:32 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your damsel. I once tore down my tank to get one out, he/she was quite mean! But I do have to agree with you about the clowns… They are the piranhas of the sea. How many fish do you have in your tank?

    • fishtanx2011 March 2, 2014 at 9:19 am #

      In a 42 gallon tank 2 clowns,a royal gramma,and the lawnmower blenny. I always said 4 was the limit but the blenny is so unnoticed I really had hopes for another damsel.

  2. becomingcliche March 2, 2014 at 4:05 pm #

    I’m so sorry!

    • fishtanx2011 March 2, 2014 at 10:13 pm #

      The Blue Damsels are supposed to be one of the toughest saltwater fishes so if one of those can’t make it then I better not try anything else. On the other hand, the Clownfish don’t even notice the Blenny. He’s not swimming in “their” water.

Leave a Reply

