PVC pipe for Angelfish spawning

17 Oct
The male Silver Angel.

The male Silver Angel.

Pieces of flat slate rock have been the standard surface to use when spawning Angelfish. I came across some short pieces of PVC pipe and, as you can see, my Angelfish pair laid their eggs on it. It only took about 2 days for them to become very interested in the PVC as a spawning site. Place it at an Angel, I mean angle, like you see in the photo.

CAM01061

Here's the mom.

Here’s the mom.

At first I gave this pair the opportunity to raise the babies, but that didn’t work. The next time they spawned I removed the eggs and PVC and laid it on it’s side in a shallow tank with a heater and aeration.

Then I added Hydrogen Peroxide drops as an anti-fungal agent. I used about 3 milliliters per 2 gallons. As you can see, I also attached a”T” piece of PVC to the tube to prevent the PVC from rolling on it’s side and crushing the eggs and babies.

CAM01222

The babies hatch and spend a few days on the bottom of the tank.

CAM01637CAM01642

 The baby Angles, I mean Angels, grew fast on baby Brine Shrimp and Banana Worms. Now they are eating crushed flake food as well. I have been using Earthworm flakes because it’s a high-protein food.

CAM01241CAM01460CAM01512Angels will lay their eggs wherever they can, but using a flat rock or PVC allows you to remove it and raise the babies.  A sturdy plastic plant with big leaves makes a good site, too. I have seen Angel eggs on heater tubes and the side of the aquarium.

Eggs laid on a branch.

Eggs laid on a branch.

4 Responses to “PVC pipe for Angelfish spawning”

  1. Kevin October 22, 2013 at 6:55 am #

    Do they avoid laying them on the side of the tank as long as any other half decent surface is available?

  2. Drew Puttick November 15, 2013 at 9:04 am #

    Have you had any problems having the PVC pipe in the aquarium? I am planning a PVC pipe project for my Malawi Cichlid tank. I have an extra height aquarium, so too scared to have rocks full height due to landslides. So I was planning to use PVC pipe to make caves using silicone and gravel to make them look more natural. Just worried that they may place chemicals in the tank as they aren’t really made for fish.

    • fishtanx2011 November 16, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

      There is some Internet debate on this but overall I get the idea that it is safe. Probably as safe, or unsafe, as silicone sealer and plastic plants. I only have the PVC in the tank for a few weeks at most. When you get your tank done please send a link to a photo of it, it sounds like an interesting way to deal with the “stacking heavy rocks” problem.

Leave a Reply

