Another tank! Bigger is better.

17 Oct

CAM01690I bought a used 42-gallon glass bowfront tank for my Saltwater fish.

CAM00069I set the tank in front of the old one, trying to see how it would look. The stand is nice but it was nicked-up and it was too much wood for our living room.

CAM00070The old tank was 37 gallons. This tank has more “floor-space” which is most useful to fish instead of height.

CAM01097So I went to work….OK OK a little lie there…my wife went to work. She is very talented when it comes to painting and refinishing. First she sanded the stand.

CAM01098Then she cleaned it.

CAM01102And painted it. Now this makes it look easy, but she spends a lot of time and makes it perfect.

CAM01105Hmmm, much better!

CAM01124

Cloudy water for one day.

CAM01139

Just needed a background, so I got to work…

CAM01173-1

…I mean , my wife made the background.  Jeesh, what is this, the Spanish Inquisition?

In a few months I will have had my 2 Clownfish and one Royal Gramma for 6 years!  A Green-Spotted Puffer lives with them, too.

7 Responses to “Another tank! Bigger is better.”

  1. DCM October 17, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    Looking great!

    • fishtanx2011 October 17, 2013 at 11:59 am #

      Thank you! I just added some low-light coral frags to that tank. Maybe a mistake but I’ll post about it soon. And that’s how it all starts, right!!! Coral mania!

  2. becomingcliche October 18, 2013 at 7:42 am #

    6 years! That’s real success for saltwater fish!

    • fishtanx2011 October 18, 2013 at 7:56 am #

      My granddaughter was 3 years old. My wife said can you set up a “Nemo” tank for her? Finding Nemo was BIG then. So 6 years later I slave away at the tank and when my 9 year-old granddaughter visits there’s not a second glance at the tank!!

      • becomingcliche October 18, 2013 at 8:02 am #

        I have a fish that I bought before I graduated from high school. That fish is old enough to vote, drink, and get good rates on its car insurance.

      • fishtanx2011 October 19, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

        How about a post about your old fish? Is it a goldfish? I see that Shedd Aquarium in Chicago has an Australian Lungfish that it acquired in 1933. They named it Granddad.

      • becomingcliche October 21, 2013 at 7:57 am #

        It’s a spotted raphael cat. Agamyxis pectinifrons. It thrives on benign neglect.

Leave a Reply

