Cleaning the ponds is nasty no matter what

1 May
The turtle pond is a stinky mess in the Spring.

The turtle pond is a stinky mess in the Spring.

CAM00321

During Winter I float plastic jugs weighted slightly with sand. I don’t think this is necessary in a rubber-lined pond but I do it anyway. I don’t know why.

CAM00322

The little pond is full of leaves and even newspaper.

The turtle are anxious to get outdoors. The female was acting strange, prowling slowly at the bottom of the tank.

The turtles are anxious to get outdoors. The female was acting strange, prowling slowly at the bottom of the tank.

I hoped that draining the pond at 40F ( 4degrees C) would make it less smelly. It was still disgusting.

I hoped that draining the pond at Forty degrees F ( 4 degrees C) would make it less smelly. It was still disgusting.

The land plants need work, too.

The land plants need work, too.

A little frog survived the Winter in the 30 gallon pond.

A little frog survived the Winter in the 30 gallon pond.

I brought nthe frog indoors for two days and fattened him up on earthworms.

I brought the frog indoors for two days and fattened him up on earthworms.

My loyal assistant.

My loyal assistant.

Re-filling the big pond.

Re-filling the big pond.

And another frog, this one as big as your hand. An American Bullfrog.

And another frog, this one as big as your hand.
An American Bullfrog.

CAM00365

Still too cold for fish. I want to put some Platies and Swordtails in this one.

CAM00333

CAM00366

Good luck, little froggie.

Leave a Reply

