Now THAT’S a fish show!!

31 Mar

I joined our local fish club a few months ago and today I went to their annual aquarium show.

I was impressed. The tanks were beautiful, the fish bigger and prettier than any I have ever had.

This Altum Angelfish is about twice as big as my Scalare Angels.

This Altum Angelfish is about twice as big as my Scalare Angels.

I think people who see these aquariums will say to themselves, “That is so pretty, maybe we should get a fish tank!”

DSCF5586

What do people say when they enter a pet store? “Look at all the fish.”

petstoreaquarium

Typical petstore aquarium. Nice fish, but not something to put in the living room.

Display tanks, both large and small, may not be a waste of space in a retail store if it motivates customers to get an aquarium. To anyone who thinks that aquariums take up too much room, you should have seen some of the little tanks at the fish show.

DSCF5580

This tank is only a few gallons. Maybe 10 liters or so.

DSCF5581

Another little one.

DSCF5582

One of my favorite fish, the Harlequin Rasbora.

One of my favorite fish, the Harlequin Rasbora.

Big Sterbai Corydoras.

Big Sterbai Corydoras.

DSCF5585

DSCF5587

I’ve never seen this fish species before. I need to get Googling.

DSCF5588

Platies are great for beginners and experienced aquarists. Maybe the perfect fish.
Hardy, many color variations, easy to breed.

DSCF5590

See the big Pleco tail sticking out of the cave? There are tons of juvenile Plecos in this tank, too.

DSCF5589

DSCF5592

This Plecostomus must be nearly 2 feet long.

DSCF5591

The fish show is held at a greenhouse. Here is a banana tree. In Iowa, we don’t see banana trees very often. I was impressed.

Leave a Reply

