Troubles with Angelfish

21 Mar

Some of my adult Angelfish have died recently. Two different tanks and different symptoms.

It started over a month ago with my female Marble Angel. She was the mother of the 70 babies that are now living in various tanks here in Eastern Iowa.  One day I noticed she looked lethargic, sitting near the bottom. It was puzzling. The next day she was dead!

DSCF5070

I suspect that she banged into the side or top of the aquarium and could not recover. An aquarium is a very foreign environment, even to a fish.  Vertical glass walls with a plastic or glass top.

One thing we can do to avoid this problem is to turn the lights on or off gradually. When I go into the fishroom I turn on an overhead room light. Then I turn on a light over some houseplants I have.  Finally, I start turning on the tank lights.

At night I do the reverse, of course. Fish lights off first, then the plants , then the room light.

DSCF5089

Then I lost this poor girl to Heximita, which I wrote about in a previous post.

THEN, I was given 4 adult Angelfish!

A neighbor gave me these fish. Originally, he bought 2 of my young Gold Angelfish, $1 each!.  I didn’t know he lived two blocks away. I gave him some plants, and later helped set up his Angelfish rearing tank, complete with brine shrimp, etc. Then, he wanted some Jack Dempseys and …ta da!… I had Jack Dempseys to give him so… he gave me Angelfish.

A breeding pair of Marble Koi Angels.

A breeding pair of Marble Koi Angels.

CAM00238

…plus this Angel on the right.

CAM00240

A week later this fish was dead.

AND another adult that he gave me died!!! I didn’t have it long enough to get a photo of it. That one had ragged fins and a bloated belly and was no surprise but the one up above… well, it has just confused me.

I guess the point is…some fish you can save. Some you can’t. Some diseases and injuries come on so fast there is no time to diagnose the problem. In those cases I think it’s a good idea to think about the general condition of the aquarium and make substantial water changes. You can test the water all you want but I still say, CHANGE the WATER!!! I’m talking like 20 percent every day for a week. After all, it’s called FRESH WATER right? Observe the fish awhile and see if any of the fish are being harassed by others.

Try not to be discouraged when a fish dies. If you learn from it and stick with it you will find yourself raising fish by the hundreds!

You can blame me when that happens.

2 Responses to “Troubles with Angelfish”

  1. ruminationsofanidlemind September 27, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

    Hi, my Gold Marble Angel Fish died yesterday and I felt quite awful. But thanks for this. My other Angel is suffering from fin rot sadly which I think it had from before. Any pointers on how to deal with this?

    • fishtanx2011 October 17, 2013 at 11:28 am #

      I hope your Angel has recovered. I would have made some big water changes. Get the water as clean as possible, then add an anti-fungal/bacterial medication like Clout. Sorry for the late response. If you lived near here, Iowa, USA , I would give you some Angelfish!

Leave a Reply

