More fun and freebies at the Fish Club

21 Mar

This is coming from a person who never joins ANYTHING!

JOIN YOUR LOCAL FISH CLUB!!!

I went to our fish club meeting last week. I joined 3 months ago so it was the third meeting I had ever attended.

I bagged 12 bags of assorted aquarium plants to sell at the meeting. I had saltwater Caulerpa, freshwater Java Moss, Hornwort, and Water Lettuce.

CAM00277

There weren’t too many people at the meeting, only a dozen or so. They quickly snapped up the plants for a dollar or two per bag and I donated that to the fish club. Like I always say, I am in this hobby to lose money.

Earlier in the meeting there was a presentation on how to set-up a tank for a fish show. Every year, this fish club holds an aquarium show on Easter weekend at a city-owned greenhouse. I’m not displaying a tank there this year. I am a chicken, simple as that, but next year, look out!! I have some big ideas!!!

Two members brought in four Dwarf Red Gularis and those sold for $1 each. I’m sure those beautiful fish are worth much more but I knew nothing about them and I have tried to abide by the rule not to buy a fish until I know how to properly care for it.

Just to show you how pretty a Dwarf Red Gularis is, here is a picture I stole off the Internet:

Insanely beautiful fish. If only I had an empty tank!!!

Insanely beautiful fish. If only I had an empty tank!!!

Then, a fun part of every meeting is called Mystery Fish. Clues are given about a fish that is hidden in a bag. The clues start out vague and then get more specific until someone guesses what the fish is. The winner gets to keep the fish. At this meeting, a cute little Pearlscale Goldfish was the prize.

Finally, the raffle!!! I spent 2 bucks and got 6 tickets. Would I win anything this time???

The first number gets called and…It’s me!!!

Over 5 ounces of fish food! Great for Angels, Firemouths, and the catfish love it too!

Over 5 ounces of fish food! Great for Angels, Firemouths, and the catfish love it too!

A few minutes later, me again!!

A sponge filter. I love these! Very efficient design.

A sponge filter. I love these! Very efficient design.

Then, I had a third ticket number called!

Once the fish food was off the raffle table, I grabbed this water dechorinator.

Once the fish food was off the raffle table, I grabbed this water dechorinator.

I’m not especially lucky, I think nearly everyone at the meeting won 2 or 3 prizes.

On top of all that, there was a 12 oz. sample of this product given to every club member:

Start Smart Complete is live bacteria that allows you to add fish to a brand-new aquarium without waiting weeks for the tank to go through it's natural bacteria cycle.

Start Smart Complete is live bacteria that allows you to add fish to a brand-new aquarium without waiting weeks for the tank to go through it’s natural bacteria cycle.

You know that TV show “Tanked” where those weirdos set up crazy expensive fish tanks? They set up the tank and throw the fish right in. How can they do that?? I bet they use this Start Smart Complete or something like it.

This Spring I will try it in my outdoor 30 gallon pond. I’ll clean the pond , fill it up, dechlorinate it, add the Start Smart, and put in the fish.  I’ll be adding Velvet Red Swordtails and Marigold Variatus Platies.

I feel lucky to have discovered the fun of joining a fish club. The people at this club probably know twice as much as I do about fish but they don’t show off their knowledge , they want to share it. I bet most fish clubs are like that. Try it!

One Response to “More fun and freebies at the Fish Club”

  1. becomingcliche March 22, 2013 at 4:46 am #

    I’m discovering that there is very little reality in reality television shows. One of the reality shows where the host finds deep discounts and unbelievable bargains on vintage toys actually came to this area. He pretended to buy a collection of every valuable toys for $20 each. No money changed hands. It was ALL a set up for the television audience.Most likely, the fish show is simply breaking down an established aquarium and relocating it. My two cents.

    Congrats on your win!

Leave a Reply

