Mr. Clean Magic Eraser scrub-pads to clean aquarium glass

7 Mar

We use these scrub-pads in the kitchen. They work great.
My saltwater tank has hard green algae on the glass. I have used a razor blade to remove it, which scratches the glass.

I rinsed out a brand-new Mr. Clean Magic Eraser and it did the best job on my aquarium of any cloth or plastic scrubber I have ever used. 
I also tried it on a partially filled turtle tank. Hard water deposits on the glass look terrible. This scrub-pad did not remove that. (it’s not really magic)

CAM00130

CAM00131

I’ll also throw in this little tip for free:

If you fill your tanks the old-fashioned way, like I do,  it can hard to pour water into a tank that is on a stand underneath another fish tank.  Let’s say you siphon out 4 gallons of old, cruddy water and want to fill the tank back up. Just put 4 gallons (not five!!)  of new water above the water level of the tank. Start a siphon and forget about it.

DSCF5408

9 Responses to “Mr. Clean Magic Eraser scrub-pads to clean aquarium glass”

  1. deepsspace March 7, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

    Won’t the sponge contaminate the water?

    • fishtanx2011 March 7, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

      I did read a little about these sponges, and I don’t see that they contain any soaps or chemicals, but I still washed it out before using. I couldn’t help myself.

      • deepsspace March 8, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

        Oh that’s good. I assumed they had a cleaner in them and it was released when wet. Good to know when I start cleaning my tank!

      • fishtanx2011 March 9, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

        Let me know how it works for you. Please read more about them if you’re unsure. Google Mr. Clean Magic Eraser Aquariums.

  2. becomingcliche March 8, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    I wondered about chemical content, too. I’m glad it works. Looking for something to scrub out my aquarium with, too.

  3. amy colucy March 8, 2013 at 1:30 pm #

    not bad idea if it dont kill fish…..

    • fishtanx2011 March 9, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

      Make sure you get the original Mr. Clean Magic Eraser. There may be similar products that do contain soaps. in fact, one of the Mr. Clean Eraser products for bathrooms may contain other ingredients. (I haven’t seen it, only read about it) Just get the one that I have pictured.

  4. Cleaners Holland Park March 19, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    I found the solution for filling a fish tank great. I didn’t know about it until now, and you call this old-fashioned. I will certainly try the product you have mentioned and hopefully it will clean mine.

Leave a Reply

