Fun at the fish club

7 Mar

I joined our local fish club!  I’ve gone to two meetings so far.

A typical meeting has a speaker, a fish bowl contest, club news and a raffle. The raffle tickets cost a dollar. You get 2 or 3 tickets for each dollar. I think I spent 3 dollars at the first meeting and 4 at the second meeting.

Let me show you what I won:

DSCF5369

These are made with Salmon, Halibut and shrimp.

DSCF5370

These high protein pellets  are small enough for many of my fish. They sink to the bottom and are great for the loaches and catfish.

CAM00068

Here’s a nicely designed sponge filter. I can always use a good sponge filter.

CAM00185

Another very good high protein small pellet. Made with shrimp, Sardines and plankton.

CAM00183

When I get more expensive plants I will use these.

CAM00184

I don’t have any cichlids that can swallow these but they are great turtle food.

CAM00186

This item was the last thing on the table. A tiny amount of Betta food and a plastic wand to train your Betta to feed from.
As the lady at the fish club told me: “Marketing .”

I am guessing these items, in total, would cost 25 to 30 dollars at a store. I spent 7 on raffle tickets.

4 Responses to “Fun at the fish club”

  1. deepsspace March 7, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    That’s a lot of stuff you won!

    • fishtanx2011 March 7, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

      I know! I think everyone who buys some tickets wins something.

  2. becomingcliche March 8, 2013 at 7:51 am #

    Wow! Did anyone else win anything? Nice haul!

    • fishtanx2011 March 9, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

      The next meeting is Tuesday March 12, we’ll see if my luck holds. But yes, almost everyone wins something.

Leave a Reply

