Bristlenose Plecos move in together

2 Jan

After selling the baby Angels I have a little tank space again!

I put my two Bristlenose Plecos together yesterday. The male is a short-fin albino and the female is a long-fin albino.

The main feature of the tank is a very fake-looking plastic stump. It has four openings. I have read that Plecos like fairly narrow confines for spawning so I put some stones inside the stump to make it more cave-like.

The male has been spending all of his time in the stump or at the entrance. He has been waving his fins, much like an Angelfish fanning their eggs. The female has not done this at all so I believe the male is trying to impress the female with his fatherly abilities.

The female does not look full of eggs so if nothing happens I won’t be surprised. I’ll be feeding them especially well (today they got frozen peas and brine shrimp) and making water changes.

DSCF5237

The male is laying on the bottom and you can see the females flowing fins hanging above him.

If Bristlenoses were big they would be terrifying!

If Bristlenoses were big they would be terrifying!

Here's a little Bristlenose that I bought last month. They a a dollar apiece at Petsmart. I guess I won't get rich raising these guys either.

Here’s a little Bristlenose that I bought last month. They were a dollar apiece at Petsmart.  I guess I won’t get rich raising these guys either.

4 Responses to “Bristlenose Plecos move in together”

  1. becomingcliche January 3, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    A bristlenose $1? That’s incredible. I missed that deal. I no longer have a quarantine tank, though, and I’m afraid of what ickies (or just ich) I might bring home.

    • fishtanx2011 January 3, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

      Same day I bought the little Plecos I bought 4 Black Phantom Tetras. Within a few days they had Ich!!! I had put the Tetras in with my Red Swordtails. I cranked up the heat and added a little salt. The Tetras died but my Swords are fine. Why, in 2013, do we still have to buy Ich-infested fish?!?!?!?

  2. thatoldschoolgirl March 3, 2013 at 4:13 am #

    I have found the easiest way to get them to breed is making a “cave”.

    Don’t forget about the zucchini. They really should have it as part of their diet.

    • fishtanx2011 March 3, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

      I think they have a pretty good cave. The male stays in it almost all of the time. I occasionally feed them frozen peas and rarely a piece of cucumber but I never have zucchini for them. When the female (she is an albino) is up against the glass I can’t see any sign of eggs. She looks thin. Can you tell when the females are full of eggs?

Leave a Reply

