Baby Turtle and Jack Dempseys

2 Jan

While I was selling the Angelfish, VERY cheap I might add, I was giving away young Green Swordtails and Zebra Danios. I also have a group of small Jack Dempseys that I tried to give away but no one had a place for them.

I recalled that I once had a tank of Convict Cichlids and Tinfoil Barbs and also a Map Turtle. The Map Turtle would actually display mating behavior with the Convict Cichlids. Maybe the Jack Dempseys could live with my little Red-eared Slider?

The little Red-ear that hatched so late this year has gotten stronger and stronger and I just moved him into a 20 gallon tank. The water is about 8 or 9 inches deep. He has a basking platform, of course. The bottom is bare glass for easy cleaning. I stacked a few flat rocks on the bottom for the Jack Dempseys to swim amongst. I think they are all doing fine so far.

DSCF5276

DSCF5277

5 Responses to “Baby Turtle and Jack Dempseys”

  1. becomingcliche January 3, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    Head starting baby turtles is so much fun!

    • fishtanx2011 January 3, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

      This little guy got off to a slow start but he has sure taken off. Now he’s an underwater acrobat, and a first-class beggar! It does feel good to see him doing so well.

  2. Marc Myers January 11, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    If i get 3 jack dempseys how big should the tank be and whats a good diet for one i heard feeder fish get them sick is that true in the US.

    • fishtanx2011 January 22, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

      I think the absolute smallest tank I can picture 3 Jack Dempseys in is a 30 gallon (approx. 120 liters). Our feeder goldfish and minnows here are very sick usually. I would feed the Dempseys various pellet foods and dried shrimps. Also, frozen shrimp and frozen fish, even sliced beef heart! They would love worms and insects too! I’m glad you are thinking about their diet. It’s so easy to buy the feeder fish but what a risk you take every time!

  3. Kyle March 21, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    That’s a nice tank! Are those real plants growing there? Or is it plastic?

    I’m not sure how an RES would react to a Jack Dempsey, but I do know sliders can be aggressive as they get older.

Leave a Reply

