Microworms for baby fish

20 Nov

I was given a starter culture of Microworms (thanks JH) about a month ago.  These gross little buggers are great to feed your baby fish. I would feed my baby Angelfish live Brine Shrimp 3 times a day and Microworms once a day.

I won’t go into detail on Microworm culturing, it’s explained on the Internet in great detail but I can honestly tell you, it’s easy. They do have an interesting, funky, stinky odor, not horrible but when I open the container I get the lid back on as soon as possible. As you can see from the photos they are in plastic containers (I started another culture), and I don’t have any air holes in the lids, I just open the container, quickly, at least once per day.

The Microworms were especially handy when it was early in the morning and I was hustling to get ready for work and needed to feed the baby Angels. Instead of siphoning and rinsing baby Brine Shrimp I would just scrape out some worms and swoosh them into the tank. The worms live for many hours.

I also feed these worms to  Peppered Corydoras fry (which were given to me, thanks again JH!) and also my little Endler’s and Mollies.

The squiggly stuff that is climbing up the side of the container is thousands of Microworms.


Wipe your finger around the container and collect the worms. Very gross the first time you do it.


Swish into the water.



These are the supplies for a Microworm culture. Mushed-up Oats and yeast plus water and worms.

2 Responses to “Microworms for baby fish”

  1. becomingcliche November 21, 2012 at 5:56 am #

    I need to try microworms sometime!

  2. fishtanx2011 November 24, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    Let me know how they taste!

Leave a Reply

