Good quality but cheaper. Brine Shrimp Eggs

20 Nov

To raise the baby Angelfish I needed to buy some Brine Shrimp eggs. The local fish shop had a little vial for about 5 dollars.
I bought a larger container, I think 8 ounces, for around 30 dollars from a site called Brineshrimpdirect.com . That’s Brine Shrimp Direct.
These should last me a few years, I don’t plant to be raising fish on a large scale anytime soon.

The vial full of eggs was 5 bucks, the plastic jar was $30.


Looking from above, here is my Brine Shrimp hatchery. For a few weeks I would start a new batch every day. Now the Angels are eating all kinds of other foods I only keep one jar going.


The latest, greatest thing in hatching Brine Shrimp is decapsulating the eggs. I haven’t done it yet. I just hatched the eggs the old-fashioned way. When I siphoned the shrimp into a net I would get some cysts/egg shells and I don’t believe I lost any Angels because they swallowed the “shells”. I watched them spit out the “shells” and attack the baby shrimp. The fish seem to know what to do.

2 Responses to “Good quality but cheaper. Brine Shrimp Eggs”

  1. becomingcliche November 21, 2012 at 5:53 am #

    That brings back memories! The shop I worked for years ago kept a hatchery similar to yours. Once, I even raised the baby shrimp to adult size to feed to larger fish. Fun stuff!

Leave a Reply

