Raising baby Angelfish

19 Nov

Over the past year my two pair of Angelfish have spawned dozens of times. They have laid thousands of eggs. A few months ago I gave some of those eggs to a friend to raise. I watched some of his techniques. He used Hydrogen Peroxide as a fungus inhibitor for the eggs. When he changes water in the fry tank he doesn’t use “fresh” water, he uses aged water from another one of his fish tanks.
My MAIN problem was that I was was having no luck hatching Brine Shrimp, which is what the babies feed on. Turns out my shrimp eggs were old. Very old. Ancient. Fossil Brine Shrimp eggs.
Once I got new shrimp eggs it was all easy after that.

The male Silver and female Marble spawned on this fake Amazon Sword plant.

Baby Angels are in the 10 gallon tank. A bowl inside of the tank has another batch of Angel babies but shortly after becoming free-swimming they died. The two jars on the left is the Brine Shrimp hatchery.

As the fry grew larger I filled up the 10 gallon. Eventually I split them into two 10-gallon tanks. There are about 90 babies total.

Here are half the baby Angels as I am moving them into a 55 gallon. There are a few baby Peppered Corydoras in there, too.

I’ve picked out eight young angels to keep for myself. Notice there are gold genes in my fish, too. The babies are Silver, Marble, and Gold!!

2 Responses to “Raising baby Angelfish”

  1. becomingcliche November 20, 2012 at 5:38 am #

    Oh, how fun! Congratulations, and I’m glad you’re back!

    • fishtanx2011 November 20, 2012 at 9:28 am #

      Thank you! The Angels were a daily chore but very fun and satisfying when they started to look like Angels and now…just amazing.

Leave a Reply

