Cleaning the Tiger Salamander tank

19 Nov

A few months ago I was given another Tiger Salamander so I now have three. Here is a quick lesson on cleaning the salamander tank:

Start with a damp substrate. I use Coir, which is Coconut-husk fiber.


Spread the Coir on the bottom. Add a water dish. I like a Clay flowerpot material with no sharp edges.


I lay some bark pieces over the Coir for the Sallies to crawl under.



I toss in some dry oak leaves and a fake plant. A live plant would be nice but I don’t have direct lighting over the Sally tank. They like it dark.


Add Sallies.


I put a screen cover over the tank but if the air is dry it’s good to have a more solid cover to hold humidity. If you use glass or plexiglass make sure you have some air flow. The Sallies need to breathe and you want a moist , but not moldy, environment.

4 Responses to “Cleaning the Tiger Salamander tank”

  1. becomingcliche November 20, 2012 at 5:38 am #

    Wow! They are beautiful!

    • fishtanx2011 November 20, 2012 at 9:30 am #

      Yes, but they hide all the time! In a 10 year life span they hide about 9 1/2 years of it.

      • becomingcliche November 20, 2012 at 11:20 am #

        My Kenyan sand boas are the same way!

      • fishtanx2011 November 24, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

        And my Ball Python is a thrill a minute as well!

Leave a Reply

