Zebra Danios grow up fast!

26 Aug

Everything about a Zebra Danio is fast. Try to catch them in a big tank and you’ll see.
The weather got chilly last week (nights were under 50F) so I decided to get the remaining Zebra Danios out of my turtle pond. I had put about 100 babies out there less than 2 months ago. The babies were about 1/4 inch long at the time. They seemed to do well at first, then I could see the population declining. I was able to catch about 30 with a dip net but the rest were too fast and too smart. They would seemingly disappear! Just vanish! I thought there were maybe 25 or so left.
I had to drain the pond:

Look who else I found! The Bullhead Catfish. I haven’t seen him in so long I thought he was a goner.

I bet he snarfed a few Zebra Danios.


Here’s a picture of about half of the total number of Zebras that were removed from the pond. From a starting number of about 100 I am just guessing that 70 survived.

Here they are in a 10-gallon aquarium. Teenage Zebra Danios about 3 months old.

25 of them are in other tanks, plus I gave a dozen to a friend, so the total was easily over 70 and that’s not too bad.

2 Responses to “Zebra Danios grow up fast!”

  1. myaquariumgeek October 4, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Recently cleaned out the koi pond as well, and found many blasts from the pasts I thought were gone as well. True survivors! Great shot of the bullhead.

    • fishtanx2011 November 24, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

      The Bullhead is still doing great. He smells the sinking pellet food and opens his mouth wide and inhales. He is as interesting as any Catfish that can be bought in the fish store.

Leave a Reply

