“I can’t find my Pleco!”

26 Aug

Here are some pictures of young Bristle-nosed Plecostomus, or Plecostomussseses, or Plecostomi, oh hell with it, Plecos, that have found some interesting places to survive.
First, at a friend’s house, there is a tank with an undergravel filter. He didn’t connect lift tubes to every place on the plastic plate, and the gravel didn’t cover one opening so a little Pleco went into the hole and has been living there ever since. He could find his way out if he tried, and maybe he does on occasion, but during the day he can be seen only by crawling UNDER the tank and peering up through the glass bottom!

In my 55-gallon community tank I have a male albino Bristle-nosed, or Bristlie as I have heard them called! Last night I watched him swim up to the outflow on the filter. It’s the type of filter that draws water in and then it overflows like a mini-waterfall. This outflow gets coated in algae but, now that I think about it, it seems very clean lately.
I removed the cover of the filter and….

Look at that eyeball staring back at me.


With the flash on the camera.


This little fish actually “climbed” with his sucker mouth about 2 inches above the water level of the fish tank, against the current and into his little haven!

3 Responses to ““I can’t find my Pleco!””

  1. Rach August 26, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    I love bristlies! I’m going to get some common long fins soon 🙂

  2. DCM August 29, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Interesting hiding place!

    • fishtanx2011 November 24, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

      I do like these Bristle-Nose Plecos a lot. Since I have a pair I hope to get a 10 gallon tank opened up for them soon and try to spawn them.

Leave a Reply

