Silver Angels spawning

26 Jul

Last week the Silver Angels spawned on a plant leaf.
I have been fortunate to meet an expert Angelfish breeder. I snipped off the leaf where the eggs are and he is raising them at his house. So far I hear things are going well.
I found out that the brine shrimp eggs that I have been trying to hatch this past year may be DECADES old, so that was no good when I had baby Angels, and my plan to put them outdoors hasn’t gone well either. Maybe it was too hot. Those are my pathetic excuses anyway.

3 Responses to “Silver Angels spawning”

  1. becomingcliche July 30, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Congrats on getting them to spawn! I used to work in an aquarium shop that raised most of the baby angels that they sold. We hung slate on the side of the aquarium because it was easier to remove than if they spawned on the filter tube!

    Hope you get lots of beautiful babies!

    • fishtanx2011 July 30, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      I am totally cheating this time! I have become acquainted with a truly expert Angelfish breeder, and he took the leaf which held the eggs and is raising the babies!! They were not all fertile, but there may be close to 100 babies. I visited them a few days ago, and they were just becoming “free-swimming”. When I see them next it will be a beautiful site.

      • fishtanx2011 July 30, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

        I mean Sight, not site. 2 beers typing.

Leave a Reply

