A little Iowa pond that is drying up

26 Jul

The drought we are having has been deadly.
Here are some pictures of what I call a duck pond in a local park. It’s normally about 3 feet deep. Now there is only a foot of water left.


It’s sad to see the dead fish. I saw lots of turtle heads poking up. A drought may be good for them as long as it doesn’t dry up completely. They have easy pickings on the dead fish.

4 Responses to “A little Iowa pond that is drying up”

  1. natureintheburbs July 26, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    My husband just drove through Iowa and commented to me about how dry it was. Hopefully rain soon?

    • fishtanx2011 July 26, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      First rain last night in a long time. 3/10ths of an inch.

  2. Johno July 27, 2012 at 1:03 am #

    You should catch some of the fish from here and put them in ur pond to save them from the drought incase it fully dries up. Then u can put them back in when the lake refills.???

    • fishtanx2011 July 27, 2012 at 4:49 am #

      I wish I could but it’s a big pond and if I waded out there to catch any they would swim away much faster than I could stagger through the mud. I guess this shows why fish can lay 3000 eggs at a time. Their population can recover quickly under the right circumstances.

Leave a Reply

