Native fish from the Wapsi

6 Jul

Another trip to the Wapsi River (that’s Wapsipinicon if you are looking for it on a map), and I brought home some beautiful native fish.

This is a baby Bullhead Catfish. Jet-black and cute when young, they get maybe a foot long.


Here’s a little Sunfish.



I captured four Black-Striped Topminnows. They remind me of an Amazon Pencilfish. They hang at the top of the aquarium and eat almost anything.


These fish will end up back at the Wapsi before Winter.

4 Responses to “Native fish from the Wapsi”

  1. diaryofdennis July 7, 2012 at 7:09 am #

    The last picture reminds me to a siamese flying fox. 🙂 I own them and the fish on your picture looks pretty similar.

    • fishtanx2011 July 7, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      Right! I see the resemblance too.
      By the way Dennis, nobody knows this, until now, but my first name is Dennis too.

      • diaryofdennis July 8, 2012 at 10:35 am #

        Nice to meet you Dennis. Dennis was a pretty famous name in the 80´s in Germany. A lot of Mom´s took that name for their child. Nevermind if I was in school or if I learned a job in a company.. everywhere I met at least two Dennis in the classes.
        That was confusing when the teacher mentioned the Name so that we got our last names as nicknames soon 🙂 Also a lot of friends of me have the same name. It´s funny.

  2. Johno July 8, 2012 at 12:27 am #

    There are some nice native fish in ur area.

Leave a Reply

