TURTLES… and rain.

24 Jun

The smallest baby Red-ear Slider is doing well. I am keeping his damp paper towel nest as clean as possible. I am pretending that I work in a zoo, as opposed to other extremely lucky and talented people who really DO work in a zoo!

See how much egg yolk he has to absorb? Maybe he will be ready to join the others in a week or so.

It has been a very dry month, but we got a pretty good storm last night. It rained 9/10ths of an inch of rain and one-tenth of an inch of Japanese Beetles. I always wondered where they came from.

The rain may have triggered the big momma Red-ear Slider to lay eggs…again! Here she is just a few minutes ago. The ground is nice and soft and it is about 85F, very humid.

5 Responses to “TURTLES… and rain.”

  1. becomingcliche June 25, 2012 at 5:43 am #

    The yolk sac looks great! There’s no sign of redness that I can see. It never hurts to take it out to bask for 15 minutes if you aren’t already. The sun has some incredible healing powers for these little guys. You’re doing great!

    • fishtanx2011 June 25, 2012 at 6:05 am #

      You read my mind!!! I have been wanting to ask you if some UV rays would be good! I admit I have been putting a light, a Repti-Sun 5.0, over him for about 30 minutes every day, but I will give him some careful sunshine today.

      • becomingcliche June 25, 2012 at 6:18 am #

        Keep a UV light on it for 12 hours a day. But take it outside when you can. Morning sun when it won’t get overheated. I’ve seen weak little ones really perk up when they go outside.

      • becomingcliche June 25, 2012 at 6:19 am #

        Keep a UV light on it for 12 hours a day. But take it outside when you can. Morning sun when it won’t get overheated. I’ve seen weak little ones really perk up when they go outside.

        Feel free to email me anytime. If I don’t know the answer, I’ll ask the guys at the zoo.

  2. fishtanx2011 June 25, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    Just a guess, but I think by the size of his yolk that he would have hatched on his own sometime around now! I was cautious about the UV, thinking that since he was born too soon, so to speak, he would have not been naturally exposed to any sun at this stage in his life, but it seems like it was helpful. I think he is getting stronger and your advice of giving him some moderate sun exposure makes sense so he got his first “sunbath” this morning. He didn’t like it!!

Leave a Reply

