Zebra Danio babies go into 30-gallon pond

9 Jun

I have some Zebra Danio fry that became free-swimming yesterday so I netted up a bunch and put them into the 30-gallon pond. Before I did that, I swapped out the plastic box filter for a sponge filter. The babies can’t get sucked into a sponge filter.

It looks like I netted about 50 babies but there are 30 more in the 10 gallon tank. I’ll do this again tomorrow, and the next day, until I get them all. If I was smart I would take the 10 gallon tank outside and dump the whole thing in.

It was hot day, in the high 80’s F, and the pond is right at 80F, perfect for the little Zebras.

The plastic container with the Zebra babies is floating in the pond, allowing the temperature to get to 80F. Then I dipped some water from the pond into the container so they get used to the different water quality.

Quickly now, I plan to spawn some Black-Skirt Tetras and add the fry to the little pond also. As soon as I get all of the baby Zebra’s outside I’ll set up the 10 gallon tank for the Tetras.

2 Responses to “Zebra Danio babies go into 30-gallon pond”

  1. Johno June 9, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Your pond will have a great biodiversity soon!

  2. fishtanx2011 June 10, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Zebra Danios, Black Tetras and frogs! Maybe Angelfish one of these days.

Leave a Reply

