Don’t say I didn’t warn you

23 May

You can buy a 30 gallon plastic pond for about 20 bucks, and I just saw a 50 gallon one advertised for thirty dollars, brand new at the store.

 

They are a lot of fun. Not too much work. I can clean mine out in an hour. (see photo at the bottom of the pond-cleaning post on March 11)

I have an airline coming from a pump in my house that goes to a plastic box filter with some aquarium wool, just like filtering an aquarium.

Put some plants around the edge, water the hell out of it, see what does well. Wait for frogs and toads to show up. Yes, the birds like it, too. Throw in some Guppies or Platies, or Rosy Red Minnows  and they will eat the mosquito larvae.

I don’t like artificial decorations but I did stick in a couple of small solar lights. It looks neat but the main reason is to attract moths and other insects for the frogs.

These little ponds are so fun you may find yourself digging a gigantic hole in your backyard and hauling in huge rocks, building waterfalls and streams and spending thousands of dollars on filters and such, so be careful. Have some self-control.

2 Responses to “Don’t say I didn’t warn you”

  1. Tatiana Hansen June 7, 2015 at 9:34 pm #

    I’m excited for my pond adventures when I finally get my house. I am forced to have self control since I won’t have a lot of money to spend on cool stuff so a lot of it will be “diy”

    • fishtanx2011 June 8, 2015 at 2:34 pm #

      The little 30 gallon plastic ponds can be found for about $20. I just use an aquarium air pump and filter. I’m a cheapskate too. I dug up plants that i found around ponds so it looks natural. I do water everything quite often. Then the frogs occasionally find my pond. It’s fun to see a new frog appear.

Leave a Reply

