Turtles are taking over

7 May

WordPress bloggers know that we can see the “search terms” that people use to find our blogs. We can’t see their names or email addresses, unless they want us to, but I say this so I can show you the “search terms” that are used to find my FISHKEEPING blog.
Today is a typical example:

turtle 22
yellow glow tetra 3
leopard catfish for sale 2
painted red eared slider 2
colombian tetras 2
turtle pond 2
painted turtle tank 2
baby red ear slider turtles 1
green glo tetras 1

Turtles, turtles, turtles!
I want to make my readers happy. Here’s what’s going on in the backyard turtle pond:

The momma turtle, seen here…

…has laid more eggs. Rememnber she had laid 5 about 6 weeks ago and now has made another nest. She was out wandering around, off and on, for 3 days. Then she settled in and dug another nest. Here it is, it looks like a little mudhole about 5 inches in diameter. It helps to actually see the female digging so you can recognize that this is a turtle nest.

I am keeping the first batch in an indoor “incubator” but I am going to leave this second batch in the ground. I wonder how many are in there? I am guessing another 5 or so.
I cut some wire and placed it over the nest to keep out any predators.


The baby turtles would be able to walk right through this wire contraption, so I plan to make something different (using wire with narrower openings) or remove the eggs to a safe indoor location as it gets nearer their “due date”.

2 Responses to “Turtles are taking over”

  1. becomingcliche May 7, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    Incubating outdoors will be more likely to give you mixed genders in your clutch. Good luck!

    • fishtanx2011 May 7, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

      That is interesting isn’t it? I think it’s low temps for boys and high temps for girls. In the case of Red-ears I should hope for all males.

Leave a Reply

