Green-Spotted Puffers need special care

23 Apr

Those fat little Puffers are so cute, aren’t they?  I know it! I just had to get one last year.

There is a lot that you should know about keeping a Green-Spotted Puffer, or GSP, and I highly recommend you search other websites about them BEFORE you buy one.

Two very important things are to keep the Puffer in brackish water (that’s salty water but not as salty as the Ocean) and also to have a supply of snails as a food item. The snails keep their beak trimmed down.

Please, don’t buy one until you are ready. I’m afraid they are dying in captivity by the thousands and thousands every year.

Here’s mine eating some pond snails earlier today:

4 Responses to “Green-Spotted Puffers need special care”

  1. puffercare May 12, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    I’m glad you’re encouraging people to wait until they are ready before bringing home a puffer. They’re a lot of fun to keep, but you’re right, it’s a shame how many die as a result of an impulse purchase. There are plenty of other species to choose from if it isn’t possible to take care of a 6in brackish fish, too 🙂

    • fishtanx2011 May 12, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      Thank you for the comments. May I ask you a question? I have just recently, in the last few days, lost my beloved Dwarf Lionfish who was with 2 Ocellaris Clowns and a Royal Gramma in a 35 gallon tank. I would like to acclimate my Puffer to full salt, but am very concerned that the Clowns and Gramma would attack him. Do you have any advice on how I could make that transition, or whether I should do it at all?

  2. puffercare May 12, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    I’m sorry for your loss, it’s never fun to lose a fish that you’re attached to. I would probably take your question to thepufferforum.com, actually. There’s a section over there for saltwater puffer tanks – my knowledge only extends to freshwater and brackish at the moment, and I keep them all as single fish/in species tanks. I’m not familiar with saltwater fish compatibility. However, I can say that a 35 gallon wouldn’t be a large enough tank for an adult T. nigroviridis + other fish. Let me know what you find out, though – I’d love to learn 🙂

    • fishtanx2011 May 12, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

      Thanks,whether full-salt or brackish, my Puffer is getting a bigger home soon, thanks!

Leave a Reply

