The Firemouth Cichlid eggs-periment

22 Apr

I had always perceived Firemouth Cichlids as being quite aggressive fish, only suitable for a tank containing other aggressive fish like Convict Cichlids and Jack Dempseys.

Various internet sites suggest that they can be in a community tank of peaceful fish like Swordtails and the larger Tetras.

Every time I passed a tankful of Firemouths I would look at them  longingly. I like them. I like their colors, I like their shape. At our local fishshop I asked one of the owners, “Are the Firemouths very aggressive? I have been reading that they are not too bad.”  She literally snapped at me, “See their name..CICHLIDS…aggressive!” Or something like that. Of course, she would sell me all the Angelfish (a Cichlid) I would want.

So I bought my Firemouths somewhere else, four of them. Only an inch long, I put them in a 29 gallon tank with a bunch of Green Swordtails that I raised. They get along great with the Swordtails but they beat the heck out of each other, and I have had to move the losers around a bit to let them recover.

I haven’t written a post about them before mainly because I never got a satisfactory photo of one of mine. But now, I have to post this. The largest and strongest two Firemouths have grown to over 3 inches long, and they have been just terrible to the other two Firemouths. They are still good tankmates to the Platies and Swordtails.

Here is why they are so territorial right now. EGGS! Laid on a piece of wood right in the middle of the tank. What am I going to do with these? Honestly, I don’t have a clue right now. I’ll leave a dim light on in the fish room so they can guard the eggs at night.

2 Responses to “The Firemouth Cichlid eggs-periment”

  1. becomingcliche April 23, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    They are excellent parents. As some of our customers found out to their dismay. They often ended up with 30 babies or more!

    • fishtanx2011 April 23, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

      If I get any that survive I will give them to our Local Fish Shop. So far they are protecting the eggs well and removing the ones that turn white.

Leave a Reply

