Spawning the Zebra Danio, post #2

22 Apr

A friend (Mrs. D) has a 29 gallon tank with about 10 Zebras Danios. I asked her if I could borrow a few of her fish for a week or so.

Catching these fish was comical. It was also pathetic. Mr. D and I tried to catch the fish using fairly small nets, plus Mr. D’s net had a big hole in it.  Amazingly, he was able to catch the two males I wanted, whereas I caught the fat egg-laden female. This 5 minute task only took an hour or so.

I felt bad that the tank was tore up so badly. We had to remove rocks and plants, and generally made a mess of it. I mumbled something brilliant like “It’s good for a tank to get stirred up a bit now and then.”

Mr. and Mrs. D's nice-looking 29 gallon tank, before I arrived. Near the surface you can see the Zebra female carrying eggs.

The female is by herself, for now,  in a 10 gallon tank with only a heater and an airline. If we get any babies I’ll get a sponge filter going in there right away.

On the bottom of the tank I put a piece of plastic “light diffuser”, something that can purchased at a hardware store or place like Home Depot. I have the diffuser raised off of the bottom of the tank about half an inch.  Zebra Danios are egg scatterers so we expect that many eggs will fall through the plastic onto the bottom of the tank.

That’s also why I have the water level at about 4 or 5 inches. If the tank was full and they started scattering eggs, the parents would eat many eggs as they sank. Even with this setup lots of eggs will get eaten.  I added  some plants to encourage the Zebras to feel that this is a good place to spawn.

This momma Zebra has been through a lot this past day. She looks almost miserable to me, she is so full of eggs. I would normally wait a few days and let her get comfortable in the breeding tank but I just have a feeling that she needs to pop, so I may put in a male tomorrow morning.

2 Responses to “Spawning the Zebra Danio, post #2”

  1. becomingcliche April 23, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    What a perfect set up! Hope you get lots of babies. If you put them outside in a few weeks, they will grow SO fast!

Leave a Reply

