Lionfish in trouble

9 Apr

Oh my goodness, my Dwarf Lion acts so healthy but I think he/she is in trouble. I just saw this bulge in the anal area, a prolapsed intestine I believe. What can I do? Nothing much I’m afraid. I’ll stop feeding the Lion for awhile, and make a water change soon.

I fear the worst. How can this just pop back inside? Not likely. And is it my fault? Did I overfeed the Lion and cause this?

This is my favorite fish. The prettiest,  most amazing fish.

8 Responses to “Lionfish in trouble”

  1. Rach April 9, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    Contact a fish vet, see if they can help?

    • fishtanx2011 April 10, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      I’ll keep searching the Internet. So far he seems healthy and I hope to stumble on a solution.

  2. itjustencouragesme April 9, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    damn, man. i’m sorry to hear about that. i hope it fixes itself for you and the lionfish. keep us posted.

    • fishtanx2011 April 10, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

      Thanks. Every day I come home I look and hope but it doesn’t have the appearance of something that will just fix itself. I hope it does, though.

  3. aquariumstarter April 10, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Hi, I’m sorry to hear that and really hope your Lion is going to be ok. My fingers are crossed for you.

    • fishtanx2011 April 10, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

      Thank you, I want him to live along happy life. I’ve tried my best and sometimes things go wrong anyway.

  4. hippodaddy April 15, 2012 at 6:37 am #

    So how is the lion doing? Better? Worse? The Same? Have you found anything on the internet to help the little lion?

    • fishtanx2011 April 15, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

      I have cut way back on feeding the Lion and he acts very healthy and ravenous. The intestinal issue is still there. Every day I hope to see improvement but at least it is no worse.

Leave a Reply

