Be careful what you wish for (toads!)

9 Apr

At first I thought these toads had laid 300 eggs, then I saw 600 tadpoles hatching, then I thought there might be 1000, then a day later I knew there were over 1500 and now I can say there may be 2000 tadpoles in this 10 gallon tank.

I have been pouring in a quart of green water (algae) from the turtle pond and sprinkling in some Hikari First Bites, a finely ground fish food for baby fish.

As soon as we get past this cold spell of 30 degree (minus 1 Celsius) nights I will put the tadpoles into the 30-gallon outdoor pond.

5 Responses to “Be careful what you wish for (toads!)”

  1. justin April 9, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

    That is pretty cool bet the turtles would like to be in there lol

    • fishtanx2011 April 9, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      I think you are right. Lots of tadpoles end up as turtle food, snake food, bird food, fish food. Tadpoles make the world go round.

  2. Rach April 9, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    Holy shit….
    What the heck are you going to do with that many toads?!

    • fishtanx2011 April 10, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

      After it warms up a day or so from now they will go into my 30 gallon pond. IF they make it to the toad stage I’ll take them to some wild ponds and wish them luck.

  3. Aditix April 19, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Wow, great sight 🙂

Leave a Reply

