Toad release and tadpoles already

7 Apr

After “rescuing” the Toads from the swimming pool last week, I released 6 of them in my own backyard. I gave another eight to a wonderful nature-loving couple who have a woodland garden in their entire backyard, plus their neighbor’s yard.

Today I jumped on my bike, put the remaining 5 toads in a plastic container in my backpack, and headed to nearby Squaw Creek Park in Linn County, Iowa.  I found a nice pond and poured them all out.  I walked away, then remembered, oh heck I need a picture! There were two still sitting there and here they are!

Look closer...there are three in this photo.

Here are the Toad eggs that were laid in a 10 gall0n aquarium just a few days ago. They have dropped out of the jelly string that they were in and now they are wiggling a bit and laying all over the place. I can hardly guess how many there are, maybe 300 or so?

4 Responses to “Toad release and tadpoles already”

  1. Rach April 8, 2012 at 12:26 am #

    Wow… that’s gonna be a lotta tadpoles! lol

    • fishtanx2011 April 8, 2012 at 12:49 am #

      After looking at the tadpoles again I realize that I have underestimated the numbers. Not 300, probably more like 600 or even more. I can’t quite believe how many there are.

      • Rach April 8, 2012 at 2:41 am #

        Woah! What the heck are you going to do with that many?!

  2. fishtanx2011 April 8, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    This is amazing to me, now I am guessing that there are over a thousand. Really, no joke.

Leave a Reply

