Balloon Molly died today

7 Apr

My female Balloon Molly died today. She was born in my Saltwater tank.  I set up the tank 4 years ago and put in a pair of Mollies to “cycle” the tank. The female had a few babies. I gave away most of them but this one has always been in one tank or another. Most recently she has lived in a brackish tank with a Puffer and some Endler’s Livebearers.  She didn’t show any signs of old age, she was looking good even yesterday.  Today, she is dead.

I like the Balloon Mollies. I think they have an awkward cuteness. As I understand it, Balloon Mollies were first seen many years ago by Floridian fish breeders who thought their fat little Mollies were sick, so they culled them.  Finally, someone let one grow up and breed and now we have these cute little buggers.

Mollies do so much better in brackish water. By brackish, I mean a saltwater solution. Let’s say about one-fourth as salty as a Saltwater aquarium. Mollies are so susceptible to fungus and “shimmies”. Instead of medication they need salt!

6 Responses to “Balloon Molly died today”

  1. aquariumstarter April 7, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your Molly loss. Nice fish.

    • fishtanx2011 April 7, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

      I am happy that she lived four years but was surprised that she died so unexpectedly.

  2. becomingcliche April 7, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    I’m sorry about the molly.

    I remember people totally freaking out when I’d tell them to add some rock salt to their freshwater aquariums. “I don’t have a salt water tank!” For years, everyone bought lots of MollyBright.

    • fishtanx2011 April 7, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

      You were right. Mollies do much better in brackish water but they continue to be sold as purely freshwater fish.
      Wonder what was in the Molly Bright?

  3. Johno April 30, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    RIP Molly

    • fishtanx2011 April 30, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

      I saw a tank of Balloon Mollys at the Pet Store today, I still like them.

Leave a Reply

