Saltwater tank maintenance

27 Mar

Every few months I need to pull out the Caleurpa (a macro-algae) that grows in my salt tank. I donate it to our local fish shop, along with Hornwort and Java Moss from my freshwater tanks. I also like to do a water change at the same time.

Too much Caleurpa! I can't see the rocks and coral and shells.

I mix salt into the aged fresh water.

After I yank out the Caleurpa the water gets a little cloudy from disturbing the bottom. That's the best time to siphon out the old water.

While the water is low I clean the glass.

Use a hydrometer to get the Specific Gravity (essentially the salt concentration) correct.

It's best that I have no idea how much the petshop sells these for!

Additional maintenance on this tank includes changing, or washing, the filter cartridges, and cleaning the protein skimmer. The protein skimmer is so important I think I’ll write a separate post about it sometime soon.

4 Responses to “Saltwater tank maintenance”

  1. Aditix March 27, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    Caleurpa looks lovely here and I`ve heard that it`s both nitrate and nitrite absorber. Pity it can`t be used in freshwater tanks.
    As for java moss, I`ve been trying to buy some for a long time, without luck. Can`t find it anywhere where I live. It`s amazing to think that you are giving yours away…

    • fishtanx2011 March 27, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      All plants seem beneficial to the aquarium. I wish I had discovered this years ago.
      I tell myself that I am just giving away my used aquarium filter material.

      • Connor February 1, 2013 at 11:42 pm #

        I believe that the species you have is called caulerpa taxifolia. I’ve been trying to find it everywhere, did you get yours online?

      • fishtanx2011 February 2, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

        I got mine from a saltwater reefkeeper who had it growing in his refugium. Maybe you can ask about it on a local saltwater forum. I’m sure someone would sell you some for a few bucks.

Leave a Reply

