Five Turtle Eggs: Start the countdown!

19 Mar

I dug out the turtle nest today and there are five eggs.
Before I touched an egg I marked it with a water-based felt tip marker so I could place it in the “incubator” in the exact same direction as it faced in the nest.

I lightly sprinkled more Coconut husk to cover the eggs.

The “incubator” is a small plastic aquarium. I have some Coconut husk fiber that I soaked, then squeezed out the excess water. I’ll put the top on the aquarium to keep it humid yet still allow some air movement.
At 85F degrees the eggs should hatch in two months. I haven’t dug around in my aquarium supplies to see if I have a good heat pad. I’ll make sure to keep them in a mildly warm area until I find, or buy, the heat source.
If the eggs or substrate show any signs of mold I can replace the substrate and rinse the eggs with water.
Baby Red-eared Sliders are one of the most adorable animals on the planet, ranking right up there with puppies, warthogs, kittens, naked mole rats, and bunnies.
Here is a cute photo of a baby Red-ear that I found on a blog. I hope the author doesn’t mind if I use this wonderful picture. Her story about this little turtle is very interesting, too.

http://angiekaydilmore.blogspot.com/2010/08/baby-turtle-finds-home.html

13 Responses to “Five Turtle Eggs: Start the countdown!”

  1. Rach March 19, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    Awww! That is so cool. I hope it all works out and you have babies at the end of it, very exciting!

    • fishtanx2011 March 19, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

      I was relieved to find only five! They can lay many more as they get older and larger. The truth is that they raised Red-eared Sliders by the millions in Florida and they are an invasive species around the world. I bet they are even in Australia! I am old enought to remember them selling for 79 cents or 99 cents at Petshops and K-marts and Garden Centers. They were everywhere. They were raised by the millions and died by the millions. So I want to raise a few and give them away to anyone I know who will take good care of them.

    • fishtanx2011 March 19, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

      Here is an article from 2008 about a Red-eared Slider in Melbourne! Very interesting!
      http://www.theage.com.au/environment/reptilian-invader-nabbed-after-fiveyear-search-20081223-74c6.html

  2. Anita July 15, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    Good luck with your hatchlings and keep ’em captive! Turtle Wife.

  3. Angie Kay Dilmore June 30, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    I don’t mind at all! Glad you enjoyed my turtle story and the photo!

    • fishtanx2011 June 30, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      There are thousands of baby Red-eared Slider pics on the Internet but I thought yours was the best!

      • Angie Kay Dilmore July 5, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

        Thank you! My husband took the photo. The hand is mine.

  4. marisa November 12, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    cool ive got 2

  5. marisa November 12, 2013 at 7:28 am #

    love your story good luck with the hatchlings

    • fishtanx2011 November 16, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      As you probably have read I did have some success in 2012 with baby turtles but not in 2013, which I should write about soon,.

  6. Po' Girl Shines April 5, 2014 at 6:29 pm #

    How cute!

    • fishtanx2011 June 14, 2014 at 2:53 pm #

      Just found seven more turtle eggs yesterday! It will take about 2 months for them to hatch.

Leave a Reply

