Red-eared Slider digging a nest

18 Mar

When I came home from work this afternoon I saw my big female Red-ear out wandering around the turtle enclosure. I told my wife that the males tend to go out and stroll around a bit but the females are usually in the water or basking. I wondered…is she looking to lay some eggs?
Most definitely, yes!
The ground is very dry but she must release fluid from her body to soften the ground because it looks like mud now.
I will be checking this out first thing in the morning.
It still could get very cold here in the coming weeks so I will bring the eggs indoors.

9 Responses to “Red-eared Slider digging a nest”

  1. becomingcliche March 23, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    That’s so cool! Many females urinate on their nest site to soften the ground. They can dig through things that are almost as tough as concrete.

    • fishtanx2011 March 23, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      It was impressive. When I found her scraping away at the wet muddy surface I thought she was trying in vain to make a nest. Turns out she had ALREADY dug it and laid the eggs. When I started digging around with my fingers I nearly gave up, the suddenly my fingers broke through into a nest cavity. It was so cool! The ground has so much clay I never thought she could accomplish what she did.

  2. Aditix March 23, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    They are beautiful. I`ve always wanted a turtle but they are not allowed where I live.
    Your turtle mom here looks very different from the baby turtle in your newest post. Are they the same species?
    Anyway, they are both cute.

    • fishtanx2011 March 24, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

      Yes, they are both Red-eared Sliders and the babies are so green and pretty, the adults get dark. The most unfortunate thing is that that Red-ears eat aquatic plants so I can’t have water lilies and hyacinths, etc. It makes it very hard to keep the pond clean.

  3. piacarti July 30, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    hello. may i know the age of your turt? my turt is female so i want to know when she will lay eggs. thank you! 🙂

    • fishtanx2011 July 30, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      When I got her, her shell was about 6 inches long and is now closer to 9 inches. I am guessing she is about 6 years old. She did lay eggs before, but it was during the winter and it was in the water. So I would estimate that 5 years old is a typical age to start egg-laying.

      • piacarti July 31, 2012 at 5:49 am #

        thanks. did you keep the eggs?

  4. Dorena February 10, 2014 at 8:02 pm #

    Question male is in the soil digging girl is swimming. She has one good egg . Is it normal for the male to so this

    • fishtanx2011 February 18, 2014 at 10:05 am #

      I’ve never seen a male red-ear digging. You mean on the land, right? If he is digging in the bottom of the tank he’s probably just searching for food.
      Your female has a good egg? You mean she laid one egg? That’s possible if she’s very young.Or you didn’t find them all? Anyway, good luck with your turtles!

Leave a Reply

