The Smelt Story: Part Two

27 Feb

After buying  Smelt at the Asian market I was pretty excited to have found a cheap food source for my Lionfish.
Silversides are a dollar per ounce and Smelt (Smelts?) are under 20 cents per ounce.

On the same night I bought the Smelt I also stopped at the grocery store. I had a craving for potato chips. I almost NEVER eat potato chips but I could not resist. I bought a bag of Sour Cream and Onion chips for $4.50. A Ten Ounce bag of potato chips cost $4.50.  In comparison, I bought a Ten POUND bag of potatoes last week for $2.50.

I should be a Potato Chip tycoon.

So I am saving some bucks on fish food then I go and blow it on those chips.

Let’s get back to the Smelt Story.
I was confused whether the Smelt were actually Fresh or Salt water fish so I was Googling about and I started to find RECIPES for Smelt. When I bought the Smelt, the young fellow at the cash register looked at them and said “Those are good!”. I smiled, like I knew how good they were. Yummy, yes, they are so good. But I just paid my 5 bucks and walked out.
After seeing so many recipes I made a decision that I was going to eat some of these damn Smelt. But they were smelly, fishy, and they look like baitfish to me, they are only about 4 or 5 inches long. Plus when I went to feed them to my Lionfish they were full of eggs.

The yellow stuff are eggs. Is eggs. Whatever.

I knew I had to go back to the grocery store…this time for beer. I was going to eat some Smelt, but it would take few beers to convince me.
Now, eating Smelt is surely no big deal in most parts of the world but here in Iowa we are beef and pork eaters, which explains why we croak from heart attacks and strokes.
After a few beers I thawed out a handful of Smelt, that is, about seven Smelt or so.
Then, I cut off their heads, slit open their bellies and cleaned them out. Out of 7 fish, 5 of them were full of eggs.


It makes me wonder about people. We catch fish right when they spawn. Just like Crappies and Bluegill in Iowa, we go fish for them while they are are breeding.

I think the beer had dulled my senses enough that gutting these little fish didn’t bother me a bit. I washed them off, swished them around in some salad dressing, then an egg, then some Italian bread crumbs. I already had rice cooking, plus I steamed some broccoli, continuing to drink the beer and “Voila”, a meal fit for a King.

So I had a good dinner, my fish will eat the heads and eggs of the Smelt, and nothing is wasted.

Maybe I’ll try sprinkling some Tetra-Min on my cereal.

2 Responses to “The Smelt Story: Part Two”

  1. becomingcliche February 27, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    It reminds me of deer hunts. Everyone goes for the biggest buck, essentially weakening the gene pool by taking out the healthiest animals. I do wonder.

  2. fishtanx2011 February 27, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Good point!
    I’m not against hunting but there are hunters who kill because there are too many of a certain animal, all the while killing the predators, too!

Leave a Reply

