The new Glo-Tetra

25 Feb

Not the Glo-Fish (Zebra Danios) that we all know about, I am talking about the Glo-Tetra. I was just at PetCo buying some crickets and there was a tankful of green glowing fish.  I thought the body shape was that of a Black-Skirt Tetra.

Found photo on The Planted Tank website.

Sure enough, they displayed the scientific name Gymnocorymbus ternetzi and then I knew that they are genetically engineered Black-Skirt Tetras.

They were priced at $9 each.

No, I did not buy any.

10 Responses to “The new Glo-Tetra”

  1. becomingcliche February 25, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    The genetically engineered and tattooed ones give me the willies.

    • fishtanx2011 February 25, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

      Me too!! My brain was short-circuiting when I wrote that post and I couldn’t bring myself to comment. I hate the Painted Fish more than anything. The genetically engineered ones are born that way and I figure it’s no worse than Bubble-Eye Goldfish or any number of human-assisted mutations but it is surely a deep subject that I may or may not discuss sometime!!
      I think part of my problem is that I love Black-Skirt Tetras JUST THE WAY THEY ARE. Don’t need no long-finned-Albino scientifically-engineered Anemone-injected-colored fish. I guess that is my comment!!!

      • becomingcliche February 25, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

        I can’t remember what the danio mutation is called. I can’t find any gold danios anymore. Those were hardy, inexpensive, and really attractive. The new freaky ones are so expensive. And patented.

      • fishtanx2011 February 25, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

        The Danios are called Glo-fish and I think PetCo had the Glo-fish and Glo-Tetras all in one tank but my mind was fixated on the Tetras.
        I admit the Green Go-tetras were amazing, dazzling in a way but I couldn’t absorb it. I hadn’t heard about this beforehand and to suddenly see them! What have they done!?

      • becomingcliche February 25, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

        I saw some freshwater parrot fish, and those are some weird little hybrids.

      • fishtanx2011 February 25, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

        I do like those little Red Parrot Cichilds, so fat and cute, but they crossed a line with the Jelly Bean ones that are dyed.

  2. Aditix February 29, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    I think this is sad, I`d like for such things to stop. The tragic “disco fish” come into my mind. Indian glassfish is so beautiful when allowed to stay natural, without injected colour.

    • fishtanx2011 March 11, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

      I didn’t know the Painted Glassfish were marketed as Disco Fish. I look away so quickly that I don’t know what they are called or how much they cost.
      The least I could do would be to write a blog post about Painted or Dyed Fish.

  3. rohnds February 19, 2013 at 8:46 am #

    I am surprise at these comments. The research done on genetic recombinant engineering has lead vaccine to various diseases and help develop medications to fight types of cancer. Next time you see these fish, think of those people that has been saved and helped live longer life even after diagnosis of cancer.

    I have been keeping fish for 30 years, Currently own a large marine tank and two freshwater tanks.

    • fishtanx2011 March 9, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

      I think the comments mostly reflect an unhappiness with fish that are painted or dyed. Also fish that are “selected” for fins or body shapes that make it difficult for the fish to behave normally.
      But let me address your specific point: I completely support genetic research and engineering. I think the potential for improving human life, as well as animal life, is almost limitless.
      The problem is this: Just because we CAN do something, should we? Recently, scientists removed the eyes of African Clawed frogs, then grafted them onto the legs of the frogs. The frogs can still “see” in a limited way. If they started selling frogs with eyes on their legs, or with multiple arms and legs protruding from various places, I think there would be outrage that might result in legal limits being put on scientific study.
      So, do genetic research as research, not for the mass-production of pet ‘”freaks”. There is a limit.

Leave a Reply

