Try again with the Red Velvet Swordtails

18 Feb

After having my last “female” Red Velvet Swordtail  turn out to be a male I had to wait for them to be in stock again at our Local Fish Shop.

There were only a few in the tank and they cost $3.17 each. Their health was a little dicey, they were carrying their fins awfully close to their bodies but I couldn’t see any fungus or Ich.

I looked around for awhile and picked out two active, healthy females. Then I went back to selecting my fish. (a little joke there)

Here are the two new Swordtails with the male I had bought before. Hopefully by Spring they will be making babies and I can raise them in my 30 gallon pond outside. They grow tremendously fast and have great color when reared outdoors.

5 Responses to “Try again with the Red Velvet Swordtails”

  1. lifeasacommittee February 18, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    How big do they get? They’re pretty fish.

    • fishtanx2011 February 18, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

      I know, they are so….Red, yes that’s it. So Red. Adults get about 4 inches long, a little over 10 cm. Are you metric there? I was told 40 years ago that the US would be metric by the time I was an adult. Too bad we are not, it makes so much more sense.

      • lifeasacommittee February 18, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

        Yep, we’re metric here. I didn’t know they got that big, but they’re nice all the same.

  2. itjustencouragesme February 19, 2012 at 1:38 am #

    Nice post. Thanks for the videos. I enjoy them. I noticed your cardinal in the video. Lookin nice. I also like the floating plants you have. What type are they. I think they would add a nice effect to a Discus biotope.

    • fishtanx2011 February 19, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      Thanks for the nice comments. The floating plants in that tank are Water Lettuce. They would do a lot better under stronger light than I have. These do well outdoors in moderate light, but moderate light outdoors is very strong indoor lighting. I do think the floating plants give the fish a sense of security, my other tanks have mostly Hornwort floating around, and it grows like a weed.
      I think I saw a Youtube video of wild fish in Central or South America and I could see Water Lettuce growing wild there, I’ll see if I can find that. Do you ever go to Youtube and see the videos of Wild Discus? It’s interesting to see them down there in the dead leaves and branches.

Leave a Reply

