The Baggy-shorts Tetra

12 Feb

After posting two unusual pictures of a very egg-laden Black-Skirt Tetra I thought that I should show her in action.  She lives in a 55 gallon tank with 5 others of her species.

It’s still hard for me to call these fish Black-Skirt Tetras. I always want to simply say Black Tetras, which is what they were called for many, many years. But I have to agree that the large anal fin does have a resemblance to a Skirt!

Should we call the males Black Baggy-shorts Tetras?

2 Responses to “The Baggy-shorts Tetra”

  1. lifeasacommittee February 14, 2012 at 5:11 am #

    Nice fish! I got myself a small school of rummy nose tetras – love them! Will buy some more when I get my bigger tank set up.
    Do you have any full tank shots?

    • fishtanx2011 February 14, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      Wow great! I had 3 Rummy Nose a couple of years ago and they were some of my favorites. They looked incredible once they settled into their tank. I lost them in an outbreak of Ich. But I truly love them, and haven’t seen any for sale lately. I can never get very good shots of my tanks, but i should try soon. They don’t look as nicely aqua-scaped as yours, I almost typed landscaped.

Leave a Reply

