Aquarium heaters drive me crazy

12 Feb

I’ve had some Aquarium heaters that malfunction, either failing to heat or, worse yet, getting stuck in the ON position.  I haven’t noticed if the problem is any particular brand or type of heater. It happens with submersible heaters as well as clamp-on the side heaters.

I recently bought a new heater that is different than what I have ever seen. It has no temperature control on it. You simply buy it based on wattage, for example a 50 watt heater for a 10 gallon tank. Then , the heater is supposed to keep the tank at 78 degrees F.  It can vary 2 degrees either way so that means your tank should always be at 76-80 F, but unless we are breeding fish or raising something especially sensitive to temperature this range should be good.

I’m hoping that this heater turns out to be reliable. I figure that the heater still has a thermostat that can stick on or off but having no “control dial”  seems to be one less thing to go wrong.

4 Responses to “Aquarium heaters drive me crazy”

  1. lifeasacommittee February 18, 2012 at 3:08 am #

    Wow, that’s really kinda cool. I’ve never seen a heater like that before.

    • fishtanx2011 February 18, 2012 at 6:01 am #

      So far I am happy with it. I just checked that tank temp and it is just under 77F. Meanwhile a few of my other tanks with heaters that clamp on the side need tweaking every few days.

      • lifeasacommittee February 18, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

        Wow, aside from when it’s hot in summer my temp is stable with just a regular Aqua One heater. Never had issues with them tbh.

      • fishtanx2011 February 18, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

        I confess that some of the problem must be that I use heaters that I have owned for many years, and nothing lasts forever.
        TBH, I just learned what TBH means!

Leave a Reply

