PUT DOWN THE CAMERA AND FEED ME!!!

11 Feb

My happy hungry Dwarf Lionfish!

I have been feeding this Lion with frozen Krill  and frozen Silversides (a saltwater minnow).  The Silversides cost about $1 per ounce, which is not bad, but I have read that some fish-keepers have discovered that buying frozen Smelt at an Asian market is cheaper way to go. I  will need to buy food soon so I’ll let you know if I find the Smelt and how much it costs.

Note: After seeing this post my brother commented, “I bet the Clownfish are saying FEED THE LIONFISH, too!”

4 Responses to “PUT DOWN THE CAMERA AND FEED ME!!!”

  1. aditix February 13, 2012 at 7:10 am #

    It`s captain Picard`s pet fish from Startrek TNG. It was called Livingston 🙂

    • fishtanx2011 February 13, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

      No kidding, I did not know that. Maybe I can Google it and find a picture. It’s nice to know this species survived into the future!

  2. fishtanx2011 February 14, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    Hi Aditix, I did look it up and you are right. It is interesting, the show used two different species of Lionfish in different years! They would think that no one would notice but of course some die-hard aquarists were paying attention!

  3. Jess March 24, 2015 at 1:32 pm #

    What a cute face! I hate seeing Lionfish when I go diving in the Carribean (they’re invasive predators) but this him guy is pretty endearing.

Leave a Reply

