Sunset Platies

3 Feb

Momma Platy with some of her growing offspring.

Platies are really great. I had some Sunset Variatus Platies a few years ago.  It was so easy to keep the population where I wanted it. At one time I had about 20 in a 55 gallon tank, and I even raised some in my outdoor pond.

The Platies are very hardy, eat ANYTHING, breed like mad. They are peaceful. If you are beginning to keep fish get a small tank and a few Platies.

Forget the Betta Bowl or buying Goldfish.

Platies, I tell you!!

2 Responses to “Sunset Platies”

  1. lifeasacommittee February 4, 2012 at 6:19 am #

    I have a question re. platys – Can I keep a group of males together without fighting? Will they eat algae?

    • fishtanx2011 February 4, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

      Hi, I believe the male Platies would get along well enough. They do pick at algae but they will eat all prepared foods and so won’t have a big appetite for it. I remember reading about someone who put Platies in a tank with a lot of algae. He didn’t feed the Platies. Before long, the Platies became hungry and ate all of the algae! But I know you would never starve them of a good Tropical Fish food but you could cut way back on it and maybe they would supplement their diet with the algae! I am just amazed at all of the color varieties of the Platies. Which colors do you think you might get?

Leave a Reply

