Silver Angels spawning tonight

25 Jan

My pair of Silver Angelfish is spawning on a Water Lily leaf in the 55 gallon community tank.

4 Responses to “Silver Angels spawning tonight”

  1. aditix February 2, 2012 at 4:39 am #

    Beautiful angelfish. They are my favourites, though I do experience some problems with some of them sometimes.

    • fishtanx2011 February 2, 2012 at 5:54 am #

      Me too! The big ones pair off and harass the other fish. I have had a new one spread ICH to all the others. I have bought babies and lost several from starvation. I had a Gold one just disappear!
      I started a new post, unpublished yet, where I do discuss the fish I have that die. I want to put a disclaimer out there that I have my share of fish problems too!

      • aditix February 6, 2012 at 5:28 am #

        My problems have been with bullying ( only each other, not other fish) and that unexplained hunger strike of some individuals who otherwise looked in perfect health.
        Good to hear that I am not the only one who has experienced that.
        Have you ever found the reason for that starvation?

  2. fishtanx2011 February 6, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    Just a few days I saw my big Gold Veil Angel acting all “depressed”. When I stopped to watch what was going on I saw the two Marble Angels in the tank had paired off and were terrorizing the Gold one. Right now I can’t think of a place for the Gold one so I put him in a 5 gallon bucket with an airstone! I have to come up with a better solution quickly!
    I haven’t had adults who refused to eat but I bought a group of babies and the breeder was feeding them exclusively on live brine shrimp. I was only feeding them a little live brine, but also small flake foods. Several refused to eat anything but the live food and died.
    The problem with separating the adults who are breeding and fighting is that when the spawning is over it is still difficult to re-introduce the beaten fish. The pair senses that the tank is completely theirs and doesn’t like any new adult Angel, even though they had all grown up together.

Leave a Reply

