Raising Electric Yellow Cichlids

11 Jan

I was trying for a "modern" look in this tank. White sand, a blue background, some rocks and wood, plus these bright yellow fish. It looked good!

The photo shows a group of young Electric Yellow Cichlids I raised a couple of years ago.
It’s not too hard to keep and breed African Cichlids here in Iowa. I have been told by a VERY experienced African Cichlid breeder that the water in my town is almost exactly the same (hardness and pH) as the water in Lake Malawi.
I fed these fish flake food and small Spirulina pellets. Spirulina is a type of algae, these fish are mostly vegetarians. They do love brine shrimp as a treat!
After having these Cichlids a while I learned to recognize when the females were “holding”. Holding means the female is carrying eggs in her mouth. The eggs hatch and she still carries the babies for a time. I would remove the female from the main tank, “strip” the babies from her mouth and then get most of them to survive.
Pet shops sell these fish for 7 to 9 dollars each, but I could barely give them away!
This species, the Electric Yellow Cichlid, Labidochromis caeruleus is relatively peaceful among it’s own kind. I kept them in sizable groups and they were active and interesting, and I don’t recall any major damage done by the more dominant fish. That’s the secret for keeping African Cichlids;¬† big groups with lots of rocky hideaways.

6 Responses to “Raising Electric Yellow Cichlids”

  1. funky-soul-vinyls January 15, 2012 at 5:02 am #

    great post, I have these fish over here in uk, we call them yellow labs! none of mine have bred as yet, but i have have other fry at this time, a auratus and a salousi, only 1 of each, others must have been eaten before I realized!

  2. justin February 15, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Do u still have cichlids? All of mine are around 1.5 inches i hope they are still as colorfull as adults

    • fishtanx2011 February 15, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

      I don’t have Electric Yellow Labs anymore but I love them. As I recall the color just improved as they got older and never faded, although some were deeper yellow than others. I always liked the black edges on their fins. How many little ones do you have?

      • justin February 16, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

        I have around 30 of several different kinds. well petsmart says assorted african cichlids im starting to figure out what i got lol. How many would u think i should have in a 125 ive read its better to over stock

      • fishtanx2011 February 17, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

        With good filtration I think you could have as many as 50 but with 30 you will eventually have the opportunity to take out females who are holding babies and raise them. Also, some babies might survive in your tank if there is plenty of rocky places to hide. You are making me want to have a big tank of African Cichlids again! Stop it!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Electric Yellow Cichlid | Critter Addiction - January 28, 2014

    […] Image source: A practical fish keeping blog […]

Leave a Reply

